Cheqbook allows you to archive a company. You might want to archive a company if you are no longer using that company (aka a set of books) and would like to make another company under your subscription plan.
Archiving is always a better alternative to deleting a company as deletion is permanant. When you archive a company you can still see all its data and run reports, but it is no longer editable and will not sync with your bank. The number of active companies you have is limited per plan. For example, on the one company Proprietor plan, archiving your company will let you create a new company without deleting your existing company.
You can use the following steps to archive and unarchive a company.
- Login to https://secure.cheqbook.com
- Click on your email address or personal settings icon in the upper left.
- Click "Manage Companies"
- Select any companies from the left that you want to archive.
- Click "Save Changes"
You can also unarchive a company so it becomes editable and can sync again. However, you will need to have available room in your subscription plan for a new company, plus all your bank connections are lost when a company is archived and will have to be re-established.