The Manage Companies page allows the user to manage their list of active and archived companies. The number of active companies is limited by the user's current plan. However, the number of archived companies is limitless.
When your subscription or trial expires, the system will automatically "archive" your companies. Archiving a company reduces your privileges to read-only, revokes access given to others and turns off syncing for any linked bank accounts. This way you can still view your company data without an active subscription.
The archiving tool can be accessed directly from the User menu > Manage Companies.